h1

Lollie’s Wedding

May 29, 2011

Everything I’ve read about ‘how to be a widow’ (yes, they do exsist!) tells me to avoid weddings as much as possible. ‘Don’t go! You’ll be miserable! You can’t be happy for them when you’ve just lost your husband!’

Well, piddle. There was no way in hell I was missing Lauren & Ollie’s (Lollie’s) wedding, and as amazing as the “Man Team” (groomsmen) are I don’t think floristry is their biggest strength. Even Alex the gardener didn’t know what a peony was.

So Mom and I spent Friday buying a LOT of flowers. We went to 3 different Morrisons, 2 markets, a flower stall, a florist and a Waitrose. Bought pink and white roses, pink and white peonies, lots of colours of gerberas, all sorts of chrysanthemum, lilies, freesias and a huge purple hydrangea.

We left the flowers at a friend’s overnight and on Saturday morning picked them all up, bought a few more (7 bridesmaids need a lot of flowers!) and went to the venue. Then I made 8 bouquets, 6 corsages, a gazillion buttonholes and 15 or so table decorations. And iced 100 cupcakes.

And it was awesome, I loved being so busy and getting so much done, and it all looked beautiful. I was really proud of myself for helping to give them such a fab wedding, and you know what? I had a really good time. The food was amazing and the ceilidh was the most fun I’ve had in a long time. Of course I was sad that Andy wasn’t there, but actually I didn’t spend the whole evening faking the smiles.

So, moral of this story? Sometimes survival guides talk crap. And my Mom is a great wedding planner’s assistant! 🙂

4 comments

  1. I found your blog through Ravelry, and I just want to send my sincerest condolences for your loss. Why this had to happen we won’t know in this life. I do know, from personal experience, that God can and does take the crappy, awful, heartbreaking things that happen to us in this fallen world, and brings good out of them. I believe that your lives expressed through this blog have and will continue to be a powerful witness to the truth of God’s love given to us in His son Jesus. (Please know I am NOT saying it was a good thing that Andy got sick and died!)

    And you’re right about those survival guides. Your grief is your own, and no one can say exactly what is right or not for you. If I may be so bold though as to recommend another book that was a great help to me after the death of my mother… it is called “Recovering From the Losses of Life” by H. Norman Wright. He writes from a Christian perspective, and has also written other books that may be helpful to you, but this is the one that I have read myself.

    My prayer for you:

    The Lord bless you and keep you
    The Lord make His face shine on you and be gracious to you
    The Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace (Num 6:24-26)

    Blessings,
    Karen


  2. You are an amazing young woman — such a privilege to have met you the other day .
    God Bless

    Una(Emma,s mum


  3. I too found your blog through Ravelry and just wanted to say that I am truly amazed and humbled at your strength.

    I am going through some personal difficulties of my own, and much as I can only begin to imagine your pain, it has helped to put my own issues into perspective.

    Thank you for sharing what I am sure has been a very personal journey with the rest of us.

    God bless.

    xxx


  4. What beautiful flowers! You’re very talented. I can barely arrange a store bought bouquet in a vase.

    I think connecting with beloved friends at an event like that is bittersweet. You get to share in the joy and love and feel part of something bigger which can never do anything but help heal.



Leave a Reply

