h1

Half way through and some cheeky biking

September 10, 2010

I’m sitting here, chemo session 6 is now done with, which marks the half way point through the chemo.  Oddly enough this session has seen the least side effects so far with less hiccuping than previously and I’m actually feeling pretty good.  I guess this is partly down to me now being back at work full time and so not increasing the amount of working time like I have after previous sessions.  The advantage of this was that last weekend I managed to get back on the bike for the first time in over a month.  I’ve not really had the energy to try to do any xc, so instead decided to enter a downhill race!  Having not ridden at Aston Hill before but hearing how good the track is that was where I decided to race (I don’t think the other race this weekend, the World Champs in Canada, would have taken me anyway).

Not wanting to go into the racing cold from a month off the bike I went up to Chicksands on the Saturday with some of the old uni biking group.  Much fun was had and there was some good manning up on the large jumps and drops.  The day was nice and chilled and got me back into the mood for launching off things and going fast, we all arrived back at the Hill house and were treated to a huge pot of pasta and spag bol thanks to my lovely wife 🙂  Carb loading and biking DVDs watched we all packed the guys into the spare room and Em on the sofa and got a good nights sleep.  The Sunday also proved to be another good fun days riding with Tic coming up from Salisbury to race too a bit of friendly competition and banter couldn’t be avoided.  My targets for the day was to not finish last in Senior and to do a run in under 1 min 30 seconds.  Both of which I managed, finishing 76th out of 88 Seniors with a 1.22 in my second race run, beating my first by 3 seconds 🙂  The track was fast and fun and there are plenty of different runs and an xc course so I’ll definitely be heading over there lots more times in the future.

Riding DH with an Ileostomy? Am I mad?  The simple answer is yes, the better answer is no, I’ve got my ostomy armour through.  It’s really well made and meant that I didn’t worry about crashing and damaging it at all.  The story of the ostomy armour started when Ses was looking for something to protect my ostomy whist allowing me to keep doing extreme biking.  The stuff available in the UK is frankly pathetic and comprises of an upturned plastic cup which you strap around you.  Not only is this bulky but doesn’t exactly offer much protection or comfort.  The search widened and Ses found a company in the US who custom make impact resistant ostomy armour that looked to be not only more protective, but also more comfortable.  After Ses mentioned this to some of my friends from church they did a whip round and gave me the awesome present of more than enough money to buy the armour.  Massive thanks to you guys and gals, your absolutely wonderfilled 🙂  If you’re interested then check out the website, http://www.ostomyarmor.com/ the guy behind the company is fantastic and custom makes each set of armour to fantastic quality.

And finally…. I think part of the reason for this session seemingly being the best so far has got to be down to the nice chilled out evening round at Sherlock’s house last night.  Such good tasty lamb and a nice warm fire in the fire pit outside was a nice change to the usual moping around inside at home.  Think I’ll be trying to do something similar every chemo Thursday.  Cheers mate for a most enjoyable and relaxing evening!

Andy

And to finish a few pics of the riding at Chicksands

2 comments

  1. Would like information onarmour



Leave a Reply

