h1

The C Word

May 18, 2010

We went to see the surgeon yesterday. Andy has cancer.

Whilst they believe they got most of it out when they removed his bowel, it’s aggressive, so may / probably will spread. Chemo starts in a month, the aim of that is to kill the cells before they start to multiply too much. We are seeing the onocologist tomorrow who will give us more information. We won’t know more until they have done more tests & scans.

This is going to be a long, hard road. It will not be easy to beat, but we will beat it.

//

~Strength for Today, Bright Hope for Tomorrow~

//

If you are of the praying persuasion (hey, even if you’re not, give it a go!) here are some more detailed prayer requests:

PRAISE God for this experience – for the way it is drawing us closer to each other and cementing our marriage. We, like many newly-weds, are probably guilty of leaning too much on each other and not enough on God – this is forcing us to rely totally on His grace and that, I believe, is another reason for praise.

Pray that through this experience God will use us to minister to those around us, that the peace we receive can tell of His love.

Pray for healing. I believe in miracles, I believe in the power of the Holy Spirit, I believe that Andy can be totally healed.

Pray for us and the doctors as we make decisions together about the best courses of treatment. We meet with the oncologist tomorrow and whilst that will be scary, I hope it will be constructive and give us a sense of what to expect.

Remember our God is a God of Love and of Peace. These things do not come as attacks from God, they are not punishments for sin. We live in broken bodies, in a broken world and bad things happen. But that doesn’t mean we can’t turn them around to glorify our Father.

Finally, please pray for a really awesome summer together. Yeah, we’re going to have horrible chemo weeks, but we’ll also have healthy, well ones, and they’re going to be great!

Please feel free to share this link with anyone you know who likes praying for people!

Thank you for all your support and love so far, we’ll be needing it for a little while longer yet!! Your help is invaluable.

Ses xxx

7 comments

  1. My thoughts are with you both, You will get through this xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


  2. I’ll add you both to my prayer list. When my husband was diagnosed with cancer, oddly enough, it became the closest time in our marriage. I hope for that (as strange as it sounds…) for you, too. And of course, continued strength and hope for the future.


  3. Hi
    I am Steph’s Mum, just wanted to let you know we are praying for both of you at Aston Clinton Baptist Church. With God’s blessing you can beat this. Be strong and always remember God is with you.
    God Bless
    Penny


  4. Praying for you both.
    x


  5. Hi Andy/Ses,

    Just a quick comment to say good luck with tomorrow. My thoughts and prayers are with you!

    Matt


  6. Ses,
    I wish you and Andy all the best – I know you will have an amazing summer. I’ll add my prayers to the list, and may God bless you with love, strength, and hope.


  7. Hi, I’m in the Naval Christian Fellowship and received an e-mail prayer request with a link to your page. I’m totally blown away by your reaction to this life-changing news. My wife and I will certainly pray for you both and I look forward with excitement to hearing about the miracles that are going to happen over the coming months.

    God Bless



Leave a Reply

