h1

A week at home

May 16, 2010

Having finally left hospital on Monday 10th May, I’ve spent the past week not doing much at home.  I’ve basically moved into the existence of a cat, with the daily tasks of eating and sleeping.  I seem to be permanently eating, which is good as it’s meaning I have lots of energy to heal myself 🙂  The week has been generally very good with no real problems with the stoma or bags.  The stoma is looking good and healthy as is the skin around it and the stoma nurse is happy with it’s progress.

I did weigh myself when I got home and found that in total (including the removed weight of my large intestines) I’ve lost two and a half stone in just under 2 months!  That’s 1/5th of my body weight.  I’m now weighing in at about 9 stone 11 lbs, that’s the lightest I’ve been since I was about 17!  I don’t seem to be putting any weight on despite consuming about 4000-5000 calories a day so I guess my body is using all the energy to heal.  I guess that also accounts for why at night I get very very hot (body healing during deep sleep and using lots of energy) and so am currently soaking the bed with sweat on a nightly basis :S

Ses has been doing an amazing job of looking after me, bringing me things, sorting things out and generally making sure I have what I need, but also calling me when I’m being lazy and should be able to do things for myself!  It’s so nice having her around all the time, I missed her more than anything during all the time in hospital, despite her being amazing and coming to visit me twice a day without fail.

On the subject of me being lazy and moving around, this week has seen lots of good progress in terms of moving around etc.  I managed my first trip out of the house on Friday to go and buy a new printer from Stevenage.  It was nice to get some fresh air and a change of scenery.  I only did a small amount of walking, but it was certainly progress.  I’m in virtually no pain now as the moving around I did early in the week has broken some of the binding of scar tissue that had happened while I was immobile in hospital, it initially hurt to move and fully straighten up, but once I’d done it a few times with the aid of painkillers the pain eased off.  I’m now only taking pain killers before I go to bed to make sure I can get off to sleep without being distracted at all.  The wound has healed pretty well, however there is one area that is still leaking and we called the district nurse in on Friday to take a look at it.  She had put an ultra absorbent dressing on it that should help it heal and said that changing the dressing on a daily basis wasn’t helping it heal, so that dressing is still on and will be until tomorrow when she comes back in.

Speaking of tomorrow, it’s going to be a busy and interesting day, in the morning I’ve got the district nurse coming round to take the staples out, at 2 I’ve got an appointment with the surgeon to follow up and see how I’m getting on.  Then at 3.40 I’ve got a doctors appointment to get a note to sign me off work and to follow up with them about the whole thing.  I’m also going to be asking them why they only prescribed me a 5 day course of steroids to treat the initial ulcerative colitis flair up as the hospital doctors confirmed that that’s no-where near long enough a course, and that was the reason I kept relapsing!

I can’t wait to get the staples out now as they are really starting to itch and pull, especially at the bottom of the wound where they are under the waist line of my shorts and boxers.  Again this is probably a good thing as it’s showing they are ready to be removed 🙂

I’ve had quite a few visitors this week, especially yesterday when we had 4 people come round 🙂  Ses’ friends from school came by as they were passing and Ses had made her a blanket/shawl on her loom, then Tic came up from Salisbury for the afternoon/evening.  We’ve been trying to meet up for the past 3/4 months, was really good to see him and I really appreciate the 4 hour round trip to get up to see me!  Alex also came round with a present from some of the people from work, Hayden had picked up on me saying we’d be able to go out and enjoy picnics now I won’t be worrying about needing to be near a toilet when I eat, so they clubbed together and got me an awesome picnic set, complete with carry basket, ground sheet and everything you need to eat outside 🙂  Massive thanks Alex, Gaz, Lewis, Hayden and Nick!  I’m looking forward to getting lots of use out of it this summer once I’m healed enough to get out and about more.  I can see us having lots of nice picnics down at Stanborough lakes in the summer and many chilled out afternoons at Essendon watching Gaz play cricket.

And finally…………… As motivation to get back to fitness and sort myself out physically Ses and I have just entered the Adidas Silverstone Half Marathon http://www.adidashalfmarathon.com/ which takes place on the 6th March 2011, we’ll both be running for the Ileostomy Association and National Association for Colitis and Crohn’s Disease (NACC), we’ll post up our just giving sites once they are set up in the future.  For me this will be a long and tough journey from the state I was in when I was admitted to hospital for the third time barely able to walk, to being back fitter and running further than I was before the whole thing started, when my maximum distance run was 5 miles!  For Ses this will be a major challenge too as other than walking to get around she’s done no real exercise for several years and hasn’t done any running for quite some time.  We’ll keep the blog up to date with our training progress.

Andy

Leave a Reply

